Dragon fruit

A few days ago while doing my regular, weekly grocery shopping I was walking through the fruit section when something caught my eye. Something bright and red and pink and green like I’d never seen before. It was the fabled dragon fruit, just sitting there, looking very much like an individually wrapped ball of dragon’s fire. For 4 dollars it was a steal—it being the fruit of a dragon and all. I paid for it and quickly walked home, more excited than I probably should have been over a piece of fruit.

I marveled at it for a while when I got home and snapped a picture of it. The picture turned out terrible so I’ll show you this picture instead:

The next morning I awoke and began to prepare my breakfast. I hesitated when it came time to cut the dragon fruit. It seemed to me that I was destroying something beautiful; slicing the very heart of a dragon in two. Then I realized I was being an idiot and got to cutting. When the two halves of the fruit fell apart from each other, I was delighted by what I saw:

Not at all what I would have expected

Not at all what I would have expected

Well, that’s interesting, I thought. A pearly-white, speckled with black. Seems, that dragon fruit is the living embodiment of not judging a book by its cover. I scooped the white flesh out of the rind with a spoon, which was very easy to do and then cut it into smaller pieces.

With great anticipation I popped the first piece in my mouth. Now, at this point I have to admit, I was quite disappointed. The exotic, fiery exterior of this fruit belies a very subtle tasting flesh within. There’s a slight sweetness, with the seeds adding an even slighter nutty taste and texture, but that’s it. I don’t know what I expected exactly, but that wasn’t it. Outside: amazing. Inside: not good, not bad.

I suppose that’s why I’ve never seen this fruit before; despite its fantastic appearance, the taste is not something that people would actively seek out, thus leaving it in obscurity. But, goddamn, if it isn’t a beautiful bit of obscurity.

 

Leave a Reply

